Posted by: richard | 11 January, 2008

Loving our enemies (1/2)

Next Monday we’ll be looking at Matthew 5:43-48, which runs on from the previous passage, so you might like to read from verse 38 onwards. This passage tells us to love our enemies, just as our Father does. Two questions to think about before Monday night:

  1. Who are our enemies? After all, we’re not oppressed by the Romans nor involved very often in bitter feuds! Please try to come up with one or two concrete ideas here before the study – without this, we won’t get very far.
  2. How can we love them (more)?

Pause also to reflect on the fact that this is not just good advice, but good news. Jesus fulfilled this command perfectly, showing us very concretely that God was prepared to sacrifice all for the sake of those who didn’t love him. Let’s remember first and foremost Jesus’s example of love, even to death – and pray we can reflect that to the world around us.

Responses

  1. Hmmm who are my enemies…? People who aren’t nice to me… French men… Annoying people in the metro… Anyone who I struggle to love I guess…

    How can we love them more? Well what’s our definition of love? Cos it doesn’t mean we have to be pally with everyone right? It means caring for them (i don’t mean physically), loving them as a creation of God that God loves and values…

    It’s kind of hard thought sometimes with the way people act… It’s that whole hate the sin not the sinner thing again…

    Would you be happy to see everyone beside you in heaven, complete in God’s love? Murderers? Violent people? Hitler? A rapist? Your childhood bully?

  2. its easier said than done i think, love your enemies, and like Beky said who really is my enemy?

  3. If it helps, I’ve just posted a summary of our discussions before Christmas as a comment on that post. My memory’s not the best (ask Jenni) and my notes turned out to be not very helpful, but it might jog somebody else’s memory.

  4. As usual the last to post a reply, but I would like to say that I would say my enemy is anyone who intentionally seeks to prevent me from carrying out God’s commands in my life… I think personally I have less problems imagining Hitler in heaven than someone who has just been spiteful to me, but I wouldn’t call either my enemy so I think that’s possibly a separate issue of forgiving your neighbour (again!).
    A ce soir!


Leave a Reply

Categories

