Posted by: richard | 27 March, 2008

Warnings

On Monday we’ll be studying Matt 7:13-27, which is a set of warnings that Jesus makes to keep his followers ‘on the straight and narrow’.  To prepare, please read and meditate on the passage and think about the following:

  • What are the three warnings Jesus makes here?
  • Why do you think Jesus focuses on these rather than any other warning he could have made?
  • Which of these warnings appear the most relevant to you right now?
  • What action do you need to take as a result?

Comments and queries welcome in advance, as ever, on the blog.

Responses

  1. For me, verse 21 is the most challenging “Not everyone who says to me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ will enter the kingdom of heaven, but only he who does the will of my Father who is in heaven.” I mean what if I think I’m doing ok with God when I’m actually not? I think I need to find a way to spend quality time with God at the moment as that’s something I’m not doing right now… well, that’s my contribution for this afternoon!

  2. Yeah, the challenge to be fruitful or get pruned is quite sobering. It’s easy to tell ourselves that we’re following the straight and narrow road or that we’re building our lives on godly principles, but when I actually look around for the fruit that I’m supposed to be producing I get pulled up short.

  3. I just read the Message version of this text (see hyperlink in the main blog post). I found it helpful food for thought…

  4. Made me think of the fairy tale about the 3 little pigs. I know where the bricks are but it seems easier to build up with straw or wood ! For me prayer is a brick but it is not a material I am always using !


Leave a Reply

Categories

