Posted by: richard | 13 May, 2008

Cakes!

Lovely social last night – thanks to all for the yummy food and drink and good company!

Mary-Lisa is leading the charge on the cake front and will distribute the recipe to the bakers (M-L, Isaline, Lohini?, Emma?).  Beki (I think) is leading the charge on the “Bible verse flags” front (supported by Nathan and Robbie, and possibly Jenni) and we said we’d blog some Bible verses here – so can you each suggest one or two and post them as comments?  We need around 10 at least to provide some variety and interest.

If I wrongly allocated the duties, let me know!

Ok – bible verses please….!

Responses

  1. Here are my suggestions:

    Open your mouth and taste, open your eyes and see how good God is. Blessed are you who run to him.
    (Ps 34:8, The Message)

    Why spend money on what is not bread, and your labor on what does not satisfy? Listen, listen to me, and eat what is good, and your soul will delight in the richest of fare.
    (Is 55:2, NIV)

  2. Will that last one fit in a cookie? i dont mind cooking i think the church fete is the same day as the lyceé one in st Germain.

  3. Thanks Emma. By the way I think we are going for little cakes plus flags sticking out of them on cocktail sticks, rather than fortune cookies, to simplify preparation.

    Now, where are those other Bible verse suggestions?

  4. A few of my favourites (New English Bible versions):

    Matt. 4:4 (end) “Man cannot live on bread alone; he lives on every word that God utters”

    Matt. 7:7 “Ask and you will receive; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened”

    Matt. 11:28 “Come to me, all whose work is hard, whose load is heavy; and I will give you relief”

    John 3:16 (maybe a “moo”?) “God loved the world so much that he gave his only Son, that everyone who has faith in him may not die but have eternal life”

    John 10:10 (end) “I have come that men may have life, and may have it in all its fullness”

    Romans 8:31 (end) “If God is on our side, who is against us?”

    Galatians 5: 22 and beginning of 23 “The harvest of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, fidelity, gentleness and self-control”

    I think we need to keep the texts short so that we can use a reasonably sized font. Perhaps the ones from the Gospels should start “Jesus said….”

  5. Gill, you’re amazing – you’re in the wrong job!

  6. A few jennigee favourites!

    The eternal God is your refuge, and underneath are the everlasting arms (Deut 33:27)

    God is our refuge and strength, an ever-present help in trouble (Psalm 46:1)

    The Lord is compassionate and gracious, slow to anger, abounding in love (Psalm 103:8)

    Commit your way to the Lord; trust in him and he will act (Psalm 37:5)

    Everyone who calls on the name of the Lord will be saved (Romans 10:13)

    Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you (1 Peter 5:7)

    Therefore, there is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus (Romans 8:1)

  7. I was reading 2 Corinthinians (so as not to miss out completely on Houlgate) in The Message and I found this little gem:

    « These hard times are small potatoes compared to the coming good times, the lavish celebration prepared for us » (2 Cor. 4 : 17)

    I was reading this at a Scout training course, so I was struck by the imagery in Chapter 5 verses 1-5. I will be happy not to relocate my tent again.

  8. Jenni,

    I love those verses! I am going to copy them out for me…

    I am not as knowledgeable about the bible and haven’t memorized verses the way some of you seem to have. Some things sit in my soul and reverberate for a verrry long time, but I am unable to quote chapter and verse. My apologies for not contributing here.

  9. I’m making practise stickers and will bring them tonight!


Leave a Reply

Categories

