Posted by: richard | 25 November, 2009

A Gospel-Centred New Year?

I’d like to make a suggestion that next year we do a series (around 8 sessions) following the “Gospel Centred Church” guide.  I have this book and it is a very practical look at what a Christian community should really look like.  I think it could be dynamite! There are 17 very short chapters (about 3 pages each) so we could tackle 2 or even 3 chapters per week.

The blurb:

Gospel ministry is much more than simply evangelism. It is about shaping the whole of our church life and activities by the content of and imperatives of the gospel. It is about ensuring that our church or group is motivated by and focused on the gospel, as opposed to our traditions, or the scores of other worthy causes and needs that could fill our time.

The principles contained in this workbook are an attempt to articulate what a true gospel ministry might look like. They are principles that can be worked out in a range of situations, from Sunday school or youth work to a whole congregation.

This workbook is not a recipe for success, but is rather designed to help clarify our thinking about how to be more faithful to God’s saving message – not only in what we say, but in how we live our lives as the people of God.

Steve Timmis and Dr Tim Chester have years of experience behind them in churches large and small. Currently, they are part of the leadership team of The Crowded House – a church planting initiative in Sheffield.

For reviews and more information, please visit the GoodBook web site.

I am extremely excited about this book and would really recommend we do this.  Please let me know your comments below.

Assuming we do this series, there is an optional extra. If you would like to go deep there is a more extensive book (Total Church – 205 pages – see here for details) that would be great for personal reading and a way to really think through and apply the material (I have it and am finding it great).  Let me know (ideally as a comment to this post) if you’d like me to order a copy of Total Church for you as well.

Responses

  1. This looks interesting and challenging! It would build on what we have been doing so far this year too.
    I think it is a great idea. If everyone agrees and we do this, I would like to have both books, please.
    However there doesn’t seem to be a chapter in either book about chocolate and ministry. Surely this is an oversight?

  2. Sounds great I would also like to have both books please! Thank you Richard 🙂

  3. Hi again (reached Brussels now). Please order me a copy of both books. If anyone thinks that cinnamon stars and almond moons are a sin against the Passion fruit chocolate-eating spirit, let me know and I’ll eat the lot myself.

  4. dear husband, can you buy me the study booklet ? I am sure I won’t need to buy another book on Total church as you have finished it and you can lend it to me even better you can summarise it to me !!!!

  5. Sounds interesting..I think I’ll just stick with the one book for now – James and I can share. If we study the 2nd book then great, but if not then I am pretty bad at sitting down to read/study unless its ‘homework’! I am feeling rather overwhelmed by the endless mountain of DIY tasks that need tackling at home which just aren’t getting done at the moment! Listening to a message/podcast or something while I’m working away (when William is sleeping!) is the best way to feed my soul in this season of life! Rachel 🙂 I will let you know if James thinks any different!

  6. I’ve ordered all the books…


Leave a Reply

Categories

